May 23, 2024 | By Richie Murray, USAC Media

67th Hoosier Hundred Hits IRP Friday Night

Photo by Jack Reitz Photo

BROWNSTOWN, Ind — Twenty-four entries are set to for battle in the longest distance event (lap wise) of the 2024 USAC Silver Crown season this Friday night, May 24, at Lucas Oil Indianapolis Raceway Park.

Three past Hoosier Hundred winners are entered for the 67th running of the event, which for the second time, will take place at the .686-mile paved oval.

Bobby Santos (Franklin, Mass.) captured the win in last year’s event in what was his first Hoosier Hundred appearance, leading the final 31 laps in his DJ Racing entry. Kody Swanson (Kingsburg, Calif.) is a four-time Hoosier Hundred victor in 2014-15-16-18, all of which came on dirt at the Indiana State Fairgrounds. His four Hoosier Hundred wins rank second behind A.J. Foyt’s six. Jerry Coons Jr. (Tucson, Ariz.) returns to the lineup after winning the race twice in 2011 and 2012.

USAC Silver Crown point leader C.J. Leary (Greenfield, Ind.) is the son of 1997 Hoosier Hundred winner Chuck Leary. C.J. himself finished second in the 2020 edition.

Kaylee Bryson (Muskogee, Okla.) enters Friday’s race as the most recent USAC Silver Crown winner at the Belleville (Kan.) High Banks where she became the first woman to win a USAC national event. She charged from 30th to 15th in her first Hoosier Hundred run in 2023.

Russ Gamester (Peru, Ind.) is eying his record-tying 29th career Hoosier Hundred start this Friday, a mark currently held by Johnny Parsons. Gamester, the 1989 USAC National Midget champion, finished a best of second in the event back in 1999.

Reigning USAC Silver Crown champ Logan Seavey (Sutter, Calif.) is among several drivers who’ve previously finished inside the top-10 at the Hoosier Hundred who are gunning for even more this Friday night. Seavey has scored a 3rd (2020) and a 2nd (2023) in his only two starts in the event to date.

Furthermore, Tyler Roahrig (Plymouth, Ind.) finished his 2023 race in the 3rd position while 2020 Silver Crown champ Justin Grant (Ione, Calif.) notched a 4th in 2019. Taylor Ferns (Shelby Township, Mich.) scored a 5th in 2023 while versatile Nathan Byrd (Goodyear, Ariz.) took sixth, one position behind Ferns in last year’s event.

Patrick Lawson (Edwardsville, Ill.) put in a good run to 8th in the 2015 Hoosier Hundred while Mario Clouser’s (Auburn, Ill.) first appearance in the event netted a 9th in 2023. Clouser will be piloting a car for Armstrong Racing in Friday’s event, which will be entered under the Kazmark Motorsports banner and carry No. 92.

More veterans returning for another taste of the Hoosier Hundred include Chandler, Arizona’s Casey Buckman (11th in 2020); Fort Collins, Colorado’s Bryan Gossel (11th in 2023); St. Charles, Missouri’s Kyle Steffens (15th in 2001 & 2019); Shelbyville, Indiana’s Gregg Cory (17th in 2023); Phoenix, Arizona’s Brent Yarnal (26th in 2023) and Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania’s Dave Berkheimer (27th in 2023).

First-time Hoosier Hundred appearances will be made by Dakoda Armstrong (New Castle, Ind), Tanner Berryhill (Bixby, Okla.), Nathan Moore (Kaufman, Texas) and Trey Osborne (Columbus, Ohio).


The Hoosier Hundred is part of the Carb Night Classic featuring four divisions of racing in one night: USAC Silver Crown, USF2000 Presented By Cooper Tires (75 laps), USF Pro 2000 Presented By Cooper Tires (90 laps) and Pavement Midgets (30 laps).

On Friday at Lucas Oil Indianapolis Raceway Park, the pits open at Noon Eastern with spectator gates opening at 3pm with practice starting at 3pm, qualifying at 5:15pm and racing at 7:15. Advance tickets are on sale now at Advance general admission tickets are $25. Advance reserved seats are $35. Ages 12 and under are admitted for free. Pit passes are $35 each.

The Silver Crown and midget events at IRP can be watched LIVE on FloRacing at


06 BRYAN GOSSEL/Fort Collins, CO (Bryan Gossel)
08 KYLE STEFFENS/St. Charles, MO (Steffens Motorsports)
2 PATRICK LAWSON/Edwardsville, IL (Patrick Lawson)
5 DAKODA ARMSTRONG/New Castle, IN (C & A Motorsports)
6 C.J. LEARY/Greenfield, IN (Klatt Enterprises)
14 ®TANNER BERRYHILL/Bixby, OK (Davey Hamilton Racing-SRG)
22 LOGAN SEAVEY/Sutter, CA (Rice Motorsports/Abacus Racing)
24 JERRY COONS JR./Tucson, AZ (John Haggenbottom)
25 CASEY BUCKMAN/Chandler, AZ (C-Buck Motorsports/Eddie Sachs Jr.)
26 KAYLEE BRYSON/Muskogee, OK (Sam Pierce)
29 ®BRENT YARNAL/Phoenix, AZ (Brent Yarnal)
31 DAVE BERKHEIMER/Mechanicsburg, PA (Berkheimer Racing)
32 GREGG CORY/Shelbyville, IN (Williams-Cory Racing)
40 NATHAN BYRD/Goodyear, AZ (Legacy Autosport-Robert Wilson Racing)
41 TYLER ROAHRIG/Plymouth, IN (Michael Newman)
48 ®NATHAN MOORE/Kaufman, TX (Chip Thomas-Joe Moore)
51 RUSS GAMESTER/Peru, IN (Gamester Racing)
60 TREY BURKE/Alvin, TX (Legacy Autosport-Robert Wilson Racing)
77 KODY SWANSON/Kingsburg, CA (Doran-Binks Racing)
81 ®TREY OSBORNE/Columbus, OH (BCR Group)
91 JUSTIN GRANT/Ione, CA (Hemelgarn Racing)
92 MARIO CLOUSER/Auburn, IL (Kazmark Motorsports)
98 BOBBY SANTOS/Franklin, MA (DJ Racing)
555 TAYLOR FERNS/Shelby Township, MI (Taylor Ferns Racing)

(R) represents a USAC Silver Crown Rookie of the Year contender


1953: Bob Sweikert
1954: Jimmy Bryan
1955: Jimmy Bryan
1956: Jimmy Bryan
1957: Jud Larson
1958: Eddie Sachs
1959: Rodger Ward
1960: A.J. Foyt
1961: A.J. Foyt
1962: Parnelli Jones
1963: Rodger Ward
1964: A.J. Foyt
1965: A.J. Foyt
1966: Mario Andretti
1967: Mario Andretti
1968: A.J. Foyt
1969: A.J. Foyt
1970: Al Unser
1971: Al Unser
1972: Al Unser
1973: Al Unser
1974: Jackie Howerton
1975: Tom Bigelow
1976: Joe Saldana
1977: Pancho Carter
1978: Billy Engelhart
1979: Bobby Olivero
1980: Gary Bettenhausen
1981: Larry Rice
1982: Chuck Gurney
1983: Chuck Gurney
1984: Steve Chassey
1985: Sheldon Kinser
1986: Jack Hewitt
1987: Kenny Jacobs
1988: Jack Hewitt
1989: Jack Hewitt
1990: Gary Hieber
1991: Jeff Swindell
1992: Ron Shuman
1993: Jeff Swindell
1994: Jimmy Sills
1995: Dave Darland
1996: Dave Darland
1997: Chuck Leary
1998: Donnie Beechler
1999: Jimmy Sills
2000: Tony Elliott
2001: Tony Elliott
2002: Jason Leffler
2003: J.J. Yeley
2004: Dave Darland
2005: Teddy Beach
2006: Josh Wise
2007: Rained Out
2008: Rained Out
2009: Shane Hollingsworth
2010: Shane Hmiel
2011: Jerry Coons Jr.
2012: Jerry Coons Jr.
2013: Levi Jones
2014: Kody Swanson
2015: Kody Swanson
2016: Kody Swanson
2017: Rained Out
2018: Kody Swanson
2019: Tyler Courtney
2020: Kyle Larson
2021: Not Held
2022: Not Held
2023: Bobby Santos


Mostly Motorsports Live

Track Talk Live

Mostly Motorsports Live

Track Talk Live

Mostly Motorsports Live

Track Talk Live

Track Talk Live

Mostly Motorsports Live

More Videos

Our Partners